When the Going Gets Tough!

(Shaggy)

When the Going Is Tough As Hell!

Ephesians 6:13

“Therefore pick up the full armor of God so that you can stand your ground on the evil day and after you have done everything possible to still stand.”

Last night at 7:00 p.m. I received a phone call from a person asking me to speak at a conference at the end of the month. I had turned him down. He offered me more money and again I told him that it was on the day of the last foot ball game a friend  was playing in his high school career. He said, “Come on, who would turn down money for a kid’s foot ball game, he want  care whether you are there are not.” I responded, “But I care that I am there and he is not just a kid, he is my friend”, and he pushed me again and my response is unrepeatable. The man than writes me an email telling me how “immature” I am in my choices. I am certainly told that a lot, nothing new. Well, as the southern lady says, “How nice!”

And then around 12:30 seventeen year old Shane shows up at my door, telling me he wants to kill himself. So for three hours I listen–he feels alone, no one cares, no one wants to let him be who he is etc.  Shane suddenly looks at me and says very perceptively, “You feel the same way sometimes don’t you,” and I said, “Hell yea!” (I feel that way now).  I told him three things keeps me hanging on–my faith in Christ, moments like this walking with someone on their journey, and my pure stubbornness never to give any one the satisfaction of seeing me give up. He now sleeps on my top bunk, like a baby, and I have been throwing up for hours.

Right now I am exhausted, crying my eyes out, and frankly want to give up and say to hell with it all, who gives a damn, but what I will do is “still stand.” That is my witness–never give up, and  “still stand,” in season, and out of season. 

Veni Creator Spiritus, Come, Creator Spirit.”

Temenos Anniversary Reception

St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

1755 Clay Street

San Francisco, CA

11:30 a.m.

(Worship is at 10:00 a.m. Rev. Stacey Gross, preaching)

Fr. River Damien Sims, sfw, D.Min. D.S.T.

P.O. Box 642656

San Francisco, CA 94164

415-305-2124

http://www.temenos.org

Temenos Catholic Worker

Leave a Reply

