Riddles, Questions, and Love!

 

RIDDLES, QUESTIONS, AND LOVE1

“Again the Kingdom of heaven is like a merchant in search of in fine pearls.  When he foun the very precious pearl, he went and sold all that he owned and bought it.”Matthewe 13: 46

What is the pearl of great price, the treasure in the field, the fish worth keeping? We all know the right answer: God. To get the real answer we might ask ourselves: What is most important? What do I really want so badly it aches?

I have struggled with that question all of my life:  Security? friends? A place to belong? Simply to be accepted for who I am? Not to be picked a part by people? 

And in recent years as people have walked away because they do not understand me, as I have faced threats, and as resources have become scarce, and as I get older and realize I have less time left, what becomes clear to me is the “pearl of great price.”  It has been in front of my eyes all the time.

That pearl is seen in the face of the undocumented young man in San Antonio, Texas, who gave me his pan handling sign which reads:

“Tired and Hungry+Any thing Helps At All+God Bless+” and in the young man I met on Haight Street last Friday. He looked like a lad out of Dickens’s novel–dirty face, ragged clothes, and as I gave him money for food, and spent a few minutes, he shared he was traveling and had not eaten in two days.

That pearl is simply being a pastor to young men and women like these two–without judgment, wanting nothing in return, giving of what I have, simply being present to them in the moment.

 

They are the embodiment of the scared face of Jesus–and to be in his presence is more than enough. Deo Gratias! Thanks be to God!

+Fr. River Damien Sims, sfw, D.Min.

P.O. Box 642656

San Francisco, CA 94164

http://www.temenos.org

415-305-2124

punkpriest1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

