Power and Mercy

Power And Mercy

MT 11:28-30
Jesus said:
“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am meek and humble of heart;
and you will find rest for yourselves.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”
How can we prepare ourselves for death so that death will bear fruit for others? We have power to live our lives for others or selfishly.  We have the ability to give mercy in the  laying down of our power and giving it to others. For ultimately we all have to give the power of our lives over to be cared for in one form or another.
Thirteen years ago I was ill for several months with malaria, and needed support. My 21 year old friend Moss stayed with me and took care of me; Two years ago, I was stabbed, which weakened my system, and I became ill, I had a false HIV test, waiting the results for two weeks, had been raped, and a tendon was weakened in my leg and I had difficulty walking. Running a high fever, two of my Haight Street guys rotated staying with me. They were both seventeen. I was weak, and dependent on all three of these guys. From that weakness much fruit was borne as all three gave me so much compassion and caring. And in the years since the fruit that was reaped during that time with me has been  shown to others in their caring. In each one of these three, I  met my angel unawares.
A young girl visited San Francisco in 1993 from the mid west. She was overwhelmed with the number of homeless on our streets.  When she returned home she told her mom that she felt guilty because she did not know what to do. Her mom sighed and thought a moment. After a while, she said, “All you can do is ask God to help you.  If you see someone, and the Spirit moves you to give, then give. Don’t worry about not having enough for yourself–God will always take care of you. There will always be someone for you to help.”
Let us be open to the power to die, in order to receive mercy; Let us be open to the power to give, in order to give mercy. Deo Gratias! Thanks be to God!
+Fr. River Damien Sims, sfw, D.Min.
P.O. Box 642656
San Francisco, CA 94164
415-305-2124
Leave a Reply

