Loving

Loving

John 10:11-18

This photo of the tents was taken in Hemlock Alley yesterday.  I have photos–not on my I Phone–of tents in the same place taken over twenty years ago.

I no longer take volunteers out with me for longer than an hour, primarily because of the shock they feel when they see people living in our alleys, but more importantly the stress it puts on me personally when they are confronted with the way I work with people–they come from the perspective of their way of life, of being able to fix, of the way ministers should work with people–and face the reality of the street. They face the shock of seeing what seems an

impossibility.

The perspective that I work from is simply Love. Love without judgment or expectation.  My Bible was handed to me many years ago by a fifteen year old homeless youth–a beautiful Bible combined with the Book of Common Prayer–he told me he “creatively acquired it” from a store as a gift for me. I treasure this book, I use it, it communicates love to me, and in times when I am at my lowest, I hold this book and remember that love. To him he was “creatively acquiring it” as a gift for his friend; I have been warned about not returning to my hometown, because it might be dangerous–I am queer; So we each have different perspectives, there is no one way. For me the Bible tells of Jesus of Nazareth who is the Good Shepherd and receives us without judgment.

When we meet people on their level in love, without judgment relationships change in a myriad ways, and blossom. 

Dr. Will Tuttle writes:

The calling we hear today is the persistent call to evolve. It is part of a larger song to which we all contribute and that lives in our cells and in the essential nature of the universe that gives rise to our being.

It is a song, ultimately, of healing, joy, and celebration because all of us, humans and non-humans alike, are expressions of a beautiful and benevolent universe.

It is also a song of darkest pain and violation, due to our accepted practices of dominating, commodifying, and killing animals and people.

We are called to evolve through loving and listening and waiting.

Deo Gratias! Thanks be to God!

Fr. River Damien Sims, sfw, D.Min. candidate, D.S.T.

Temenos Catholic Worker

P.O. Box 642656

San Francisco, CA 94164

www. temenos.org

415-305-2124

 
 
Leave a Reply

