“The World Will Be Saved By Beauty”

January 29, “The World Will Be Saved By Beauty” Fydor Dostoevsky Hebrews 9:19-25; Mark 4:21-25

Someone once described my life as that of being sat down in the center of a rail road track with many crossings and there are many trains rushing at me and I will be hit by some. And that is the way it feels some days. This past week I have a mother who wants me to tell her where her 35 year old son is, and I can not do that and is angry, ; another person is angry because I want support his politics, there have been a couple of death threats. I feel sometimes like my head is spinning, but than I hear the words of Dostoevsky, “The World will be saved by beauty”, and I see the beauty in my life.

The smile on the young guy’s face as I visited him in the hospital and we celebrated the Eucharist together; the kindness I receive as I walk late at night in the Park talking and handing out food, and other things. There is so much beauty and for me that beauty is found in the Gospel–for the Gospel is alive when we open the doors to the love of Christ.

It was like the other night when a fifteen year old Muslim youth came to me with a black eye and bruises, he had been beaten up by some adults who got angry when he would not “accept Jesus”. He was scared, and was surprised at the anger in San Francisco towards Muslims. I bought him something to eat and simply said, ‘That is not the Jesus I know, the Jesus I know, is one of love, and I believe that all religious expressions are simply a revealing of that one God of Love.” We read the Koran and the Gospel together. This is the beauty of God in our midst. This is the beauty each of us are called to share, manifest and live out. Deo Gratias! Thanks be to God!

VegInspiration
As long as we remain imprisoned in the maze of self-oriented thinking, we can easily justify our cruelty to others, excuse our hard eyes and supremacist position, discount the suffering we impose on others, and continue on, rationalizing our actions and blocking awareness of the reality of our feelings and of our fundamental oneness with other beings. Dr. Will Tuttle

Leave a comment